There is so much to explore at the Colzium House and Museum. Enjoy parkland with a wealth of flora and fauna, pathways, a children’s adventure playground, not to mention a beautiful walled garden and water features.
Colzium House was once the seat of the Edmonstone family but became the property of the Burgh of Kilsyth after the Second World War. Built in 1783, it was substantially enlarged in 1861. Much of the original building was pulled down in the late 1940s, due to dry rot, but the Victorian frontage and wings survive to form the house we see today.
The museum comprises a single room on the second floor of the house, converted out of the former chapel. Displays relate to the heritage of the surrounding area and include objects from the nearby castles of Colzium and Kilsyth, as well as photographs and artefacts from the domestic and industrial settings of the locality. Look out for open days throughout the year.
The Colzium Estate is rich in history and is open throughout the year, it is in Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire and is free to visit.